Author Topic: Trial BF2 game server now up \o/ - for 24 hours only!  (Read 4736 times)

Tricky

  • Cider drinker!
  • Administrator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1825
  • Karma: +1/-0
Trial BF2 game server now up \o/ - for 24 hours only!
« on: July 06, 2005, 01:32:44 PM »
As announced on the home page our trial 16 player server "game2xs.com www.hamsterserver.com BF2 Server" is now up and running Battlefield 2 at 85.133.16.54:16567. This server is a free trial only and therefore will last until Midday tomorrow. All are welcome to have a go, whether you're a Hamster subbie or not!

The Hamsters are evaluating the server provider with a view to getting a 32 player server and we appreciate any feedback on server performance so get in there and post any comments on the server below.

Rules are the usual play nice, no-smacktards, etc and non-Hamsters may be kicked to make way for Hamster subbies - sorry 'bout that. Server admins can be contacted in Quakenet IRC channel #hamsterserver.

Dozy

  • Corporal
  • ***
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +0/-0
RE: Trial BF2 game server now up \o/ - for 24 hours only!
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2005, 07:36:45 PM »
It was ok earlier but now it seems I am playing with an old version of the game.  :x


EDIT: seems to be an immanent patch.

Tricky

  • Cider drinker!
  • Administrator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1825
  • Karma: +1/-0
RE: Trial BF2 game server now up \o/ - for 24 hours only!
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2005, 08:35:28 PM »
Yes, the server was patched before EA released the client patch. Now that client patch v1.01 is out you will need it to play on our server.

mrstella

  • Sergeant
  • ****
  • Posts: 500
  • Karma: +0/-0
RE: Trial BF2 game server now up \o/ - for 24 hours only!
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2005, 08:57:10 PM »
where abouts can you get the patch from searched through ea's site cant find anything

Dozy

  • Corporal
  • ***
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +0/-0
RE: Trial BF2 game server now up \o/ - for 24 hours only!
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2005, 09:17:45 PM »
I got mine here.  http://www.fileshack.com/

Rik_S

  • Sergeant
  • ****
  • Posts: 898
  • Karma: +0/-0
RE: Trial BF2 game server now up \o/ - for 24 hours only!
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2005, 10:05:04 PM »
Can`t get the patch to `finalise`.

No BF2 for me then.  Have seen one or two unanswered posts regarding this elsewhere.

D/loaded the patch from different locations, same problem.

Uninstalled & re installed BF2, same problem :?

/me scratches head

|fury|

  • Administrator
  • Major
  • *****
  • Posts: 3798
  • Karma: +2/-0

JohnnyFind

  • Sergeant
  • ****
  • Posts: 982
  • Karma: +0/-0
RE: Trial BF2 game server now up \o/ - for 24 hours only!
« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2005, 10:55:07 PM »
Where is everyone?

Rik_S

  • Sergeant
  • ****
  • Posts: 898
  • Karma: +0/-0
RE: Trial BF2 game server now up \o/ - for 24 hours only!
« Reply #8 on: July 06, 2005, 11:03:41 PM »
installed!!

Dunno why it wouldn`t have it before, perhaps it was the threat of a large hammer through my monitor that did it :roll:

JohnnyFind

  • Sergeant
  • ****
  • Posts: 982
  • Karma: +0/-0
RE: Trial BF2 game server now up \o/ - for 24 hours only!
« Reply #9 on: July 06, 2005, 11:22:14 PM »
anyone know how I adjust the mouse axis settings, I want to switch roll left/right over with steer right/left.

Keeps rattling on with duplicate found in common controls for mouse axis 0....

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Tricky

  • Cider drinker!
  • Administrator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1825
  • Karma: +1/-0
RE: Trial BF2 game server now up \o/ - for 24 hours only!
« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2005, 07:17:48 AM »
I had the same problem when trying to assign my joystick. I solved it by looking for any other instances of the conflicting 'key' in the other tabs and deleting them. You probably have another Mouse Axis 0 assigned in common controls or some other tab.

Rik - nice one! \o/ Glad you got it sorted.

Dozy

  • Corporal
  • ***
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +0/-0
RE: Trial BF2 game server now up \o/ - for 24 hours only!
« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2005, 08:55:37 AM »
Would this be a ranked server ?

Hope I am not the only one who prints his awards, makes them into badges and wears them when playing.

Tricky

  • Cider drinker!
  • Administrator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1825
  • Karma: +1/-0
RE: Trial BF2 game server now up \o/ - for 24 hours only!
« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2005, 09:02:37 AM »
Unfortunately not. The only UK provider of ranked servers is currently Multiplay.co.uk as they have some sort of exclusive arrangement with EA and allegedly they have a large backlog of server requests which wouldn't be a surprise. There are various bits of hearsay on the net that other server providers, including Instant Gaming/Game2XS who we considering getting a server from, are trying to get EA to let them provide ranked servers but I'm not holding my breath.

Tricky

  • Cider drinker!
  • Administrator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1825
  • Karma: +1/-0
RE: Trial BF2 game server now up \o/ - for 24 hours only!
« Reply #13 on: July 07, 2005, 10:22:02 AM »
Ok, I have good news, bad news and worse news. The good news is the server seemed fine last night when we played on it.

The bad news is that the server seems to have a memory leak in the order of hundred of meg over a few hours (I get to see a memory usage graph and I'll post it up later). The server was rebooted at 3am last night somehow when it got to over 300meg. After the reboot the memory usage steadily climbed back up to previous levels even though it seems that there weren't any players on the server. Maybe this is a problem with the linux version of BF2??? Not sure if this is a 'real' problem or not.

The worse news is that the server provider doesn't seem to provide timetabling. I.e. any game changes must be done manually. This isn't particularly great news since the intention was to run BF2 as the main game but also run MOHAA at various times throughout the week. Having to log in to change server configs every time isn't great. If we ran with one main game and ran other games on an ad-hoc basis that that's more workable but that isn't what you guys have indicated you want. I have raised a support ticket to confirm whether this really is the case.

Right, that's it for now. Any thoughts appreciated but my thoughts are that we may wish to consider other game server providers rather than settle for something that isn't quite what we're after.

Trivulator

  • Guest
RE: Trial BF2 game server now up \o/ - for 24 hours only!
« Reply #14 on: July 07, 2005, 11:59:19 AM »
Will try to participate in some BF2 in the near future .... I'm still lost in EQ2 ;-)

Bye bye Hamster's