• Welcome to hamsterserver.com :: demented rodent gaming.

News:

Angry Seagull Forces Cornwall Tesco To Close After Taking Over Pet Food Aisle.

Main Menu

Norton Internet Security

Started by Creeping Death, May 13, 2002, 08:55:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Creeping Death

Hi Peeps,

I wondered if any of you out there could give me some advice. I'm fairly new to this home PC lark! and in many ways still trying to find my way around. Although this has taken a back seat since  I found the Hamster servers and can't stop playing against you lot.

Well, to the point, bought my Pc at xmas with Norton anti virus installed, free until June 2002. All working fine and no crashes on XP.

Subscription to anti v about to run out. I thought i would upgrade to Norton Security as it has a firewall as well.

Should I do this? is it worth it? is it any good? I hear it is very user friendly?.

i have experimented with Zone Alarm, but couldn't get on with it, afraid i just didnt understand what (and why) it was trying to block.

If you say yep to Norton Security, being user friendly and all, do I D/L the upgrade or buy the package, NB i am new to the game of home PC, although I have used PC's for years at work.

Will the package have a manual etc.

And lastly will what i buy (if package) overight the exisiting Norton Anti Virus 2002 programme.

Sorry if all this has made you laugh and use terms like 'pleb' but i m serious about asking for your advice. You gotta start somewhere!!!

Thanks again to you for any info/advice.

Regards.  :D  :D  :D

Chris ( Mr Death) :twisted:

DubWhiZZ

CD,
aren't you still running on 56k modem.

If so, then you will most probably be running a Dynamic IP address. This means every time you connect to the net you are assigned a different IP address. The concensus of opinion is that 56k ers on Dynamic IP dont need a firewall. Check with your ISP.